Iowa Education Symposium


Second Iowa Teacher and Principal Leadership Symposium

August 4, 2014
Des Moines Area Community College
FFA Enrichment Center
1055 Southwest Prairie Trail Parkway
Ankeny, IA 50023

7:30 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. Continental breakfast and registration
9:00 a.m. to 9:05 a.m. Welcome – Rob Denson, Des Moines Area Community College
9:05 a.m. to 9:15 a.m. Opening Remarks – The Honorable Terry E. Branstad, Governor of Iowa, and the Honorable Kim Reynolds, Lieutenant Governor of Iowa
9:15 a.m. to 10:15 a.m.

“Teaching and Leadership Around the World”
Vivien Stewart
, Senior Advisor for Education at Asia Society, followed by questions from the audience

10:15 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.


10:30 a.m. to 11:30 a.m.

"Portrait of Great Teachers: Lessons for and from Singapore"
Ee-Ling Low, Associate Professor and Head of Strategic Planning and Academic Quality at the National Institute of Education in Singapore, followed by questions from the audience

11:30 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. LUNCH
12:00 p.m. to 12:30 p.m.

Student Panel (with lunch continuing)
“What Difference Does Great Teaching Make?"

Moderator: Annie Howard, a 2014 Graduate of Valley High School in West Des Moines, who will attend George Washington University in Washington, D.C.


  • Jacob Bundt, who will be a Senior at Paton-Churdan Junior-Senior High School in Churdan
  • Aditi Dinakar, a 2014 Graduate of Johnston High School, who will attend Creighton University in Nebraska
  • Mary Korch, who will be a Senior at Thomas Jefferson High School in Cedar Rapids
  • Kwizera Imani, known as Imani, who will be a Senior at North High School in Des Moines
  • Chandler Mores, a 2014 Graduate of Harlan High School, who will attend Stanford University in California.
12:30 p.m. to 12:45 p.m.

“Changing the Culture of Teaching”
Jane Schmidt
, 2014 Iowa Teacher of the Year

12:45 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.

“Central Decatur and Saydel: After One Year of Teacher Leadership”
Presentations from two Iowa school districts that won federal grants to launch teacher leadership systems in 2013-14, in partnership with the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching,will be followed by a panel discussion and questions from the audience

Moderator: Linda Fandel, Special Assistant for Education in the Branstad-Reynolds Administration

Central Decatur Community School District Panelists:

  • Tricia Applegate, Master Teacher at Central Decatur Middle School-Senior High School
  • Chris Coffelt, Superintendent
  • Shelly Durrow, Career Teacher at South Elementary School
  • Joni Readout, Mentor Teacher 2013-14, Master Teacher 2014-15, at North Elementary School

Saydel Community School District Panelists:

  • Christopher Feldhans, Principal at Woodside Middle School
  • Traci Lust, Master Teacher at Cornell Elementary School
  • Cheryl Smith, Mentor Teacher at Saydel High School
  • Erin Ogden, Career Teacher at Woodside Middle School
1:30 p.m. to 1:45 p.m.


1:45 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.

“A New Vision for Principal Leadership”
Aiddy Phomvisay
, 2014 Iowa Secondary Principal of the Year

2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m.

“Iowa's First 39: Reinventing Schools Across the State"

Ryan Wise, Deputy Director at the Iowa Department of Education, will provide an overview followed by a panel discussion and questions from the audience


  • Jeff Dieken, Principal at Hudson High School
  • Deron Durflinger, Superintendent for the Van Meter Community School District
  • Ray Feuss, Teacher at Kenwood Elementary in the Cedar Rapids Community School District
  • Paul Gausman, Superintendent for the Sioux City Community School District
  • Kelly Simon, Director of Curriculum and Instruction for the Western Dubuque Community School District
  • Brenda Garcia-Van Auken, Parent and Iowa Board of Educational Examiners Member from Muscatine
  • Paula Vincent, Chief Administrator at Heartland Area Education Agency in Johnston
3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. “Transforming Schools for Teachers to Lead”
Barnett Berry, Founder and CEO of the Center for Teaching Quality, based in Carrboro, North Carolina, followed by questions from the audience
4:00 p.m. to 4:15 p.m. Final Remarks – Brad Buck, Director of the Iowa Department of Education